## MINUTES OF REGULAR SESSION - August 24, 2011

## **ROOM 03-TOWN HALL**

## 1:00PM

PRESENT: Chairman Dino B. DeBartolomeis; Selectman Brian W. Murray; Town Administrator Louis J. Celozzi; and Minutes Recorder Jean M. DeTore. Selectman William D. Buckley was absent.

- 1. Also in attendance were: Fred Civian from Mass DEP; Tina Powderly and Scott Mason, Franklin Town Council; Brutus Cantoreggi, and Jim Esterbrook, Franklin Public Works; Jeffrey D. Nutting, Franklin Town Administrator; Lisa Nelson representing Congressman James McGovern; Joseph Rich representing Senator Scott Brown; Denis Fraine; Bellingham Town Administrator; Donald F. DiMartino, Bellingham DPW Director; Gerald M. Moody, Milford Town Counsel; Meghan Leahy and Roger Lau from Senator Kerry's Office; Martin Suuburg and Deputy Commissioner Gary Moran from the Department of Environmental Protection; Senator Richard T. Moore; Michael Santora, Town Engineer; Brian Bass from Congressman Richard Neal's Office; Rosalee Starvish, GZA and Representative John V. Fernandes.
- 2. Chairman DeBartolomeis called the meeting to order and thanked everyone for attending today's very important meeting to discuss the EPA-funded report prepared by the Horsley Witten Group (HWG), which supports the estimates of Milford officials that complying with the proposed mandate to reduce phosphorus, targeting the towns of Bellingham, Franklin and Milford could cost between \$66M-111M in Milford alone. He stated that it was imperative that our Federal officials urge the EPA to slow down, cancel, or fund the proposed stormwater regulations.
- 3. Chairman DeBartolomeis recognized Town Engineer Santora, who summarized his memo of July 21, 2011 stating that a critical component of this study was to estimate the future costs for the respective towns to comply with the new EPA MS4 Stormwater Regulations now in draft form. He noted that the results validate the town's original fears of an exorbitantly expensive unfunded mandate.
- 4. Bellingham Town Administrator Denis Fraine and Franklin Town Administrator Jeffrey Nutting agreed that these proposed regulations would be a disaster for the three communities in trying to attract new businesses.
- 5. The representatives of U.S. Senators John Kerry and Scott Brown and Representatives Richard Neal and James McGovern all pledged to work on behalf of the three towns. Representatives from Senator Kerry's office are working on another meeting with the EPA. Mr. Murray requested that the towns be invited.

- 6. Representative John V. Fernandes recommended that the process be slowed and suggested other methods be utilized to meet the goal of clean water. Senator Richard T. Moore supported the efforts to slow the process and indicated that Federal monies may not be available to assist the towns.
- 7. Town Counsel Moody indicated that constitutional and statutory arguments could be made if the towns decided to pursue that avenue as a last resort.
- 8. Mr. Murray summarized the Board's feelings by noting that the problem has been identified and that it was now time for Federal officials to act. Chairman DeBartolomeis thanked all officials for attending and supporting the efforts on behalf of the three communities.
- 9. Town Administrator Celozzi reported that Senator Richard T. Moore and Representative John V. Fernandes had both sent letters to Governor Patrick outlining their support for the Secure Communities program. In addition, Chief O'Loughlin expressed his recommendation of the program. After a brief discussion: Mr. Murray moved, seconded by Chairman DeBartolomeis: To send a letter to Governor Deval Patrick expressing the Board of Selectmen's support of the Secure Communities program and urging him to reconsider his position, UNANIMOUS.
- 10. Mr. Murray moved, seconded by Chairman DeBartolomeis: To adjourn the meeting at 2:09PM, UNANIMOUS.

Respectfully submitted,	
Jean M. DeTore Minutes Recorder	
	MILFORD BOARD OF SELECTMEN
	Dino B. DeBartolomeis, Chairman
	Brian W. Murray, Esq.
	William D. Buckley