TOWN HALL 52 MAIN STREET MILFORD, MA 01757

Meeting Minutes

The first meeting of the Town Meeting Study and Improvement Committee was held on Monday, January 29, 2018, in Room 14 of the Town Hall. Atty. Michael J, Noferi, Town Moderator, being in the chair, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Present at the meeting were members of the TMSIC: Michelangelo Bon Tempo, John D. Edmondson, Renaldo A. DeLuzio, Dr. Richard A. Heller, Kathryn L. Mastroianni, Richard A. Morrison, Steven J. Trettel, Michael P. Visconti, Jr., and Andrea C. Wexler. Present from the general public was James Wheelock.

According to Atty. Noferi, five of the appointed members were previously members of the Town Meeting Working Group: Messrs. Bon Tempo, DeLuzio, Trettel and Visconti and Dr. Heller. Four of the appointed members were Town Meeting applicants: Mses. Mastroianni and Wexler, and Messrs. Edmondson and Morrison. Fifteen other applications were received; however, no applications were received from Precinct 6. (Please see the attached List of Members and Other Applicants.)

Atty. Noferi stated that since the TMSIC was established by amending the Standing Votes of the Town Meeting, its meetings were subject to the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. As such, the members were to expect correspondence from Amy Neves, Town Clerk, regarding the Open Meeting Guide Law, as well as the Commonwealth's Online Conflict of Interest Law Training Program. (Atty. Noferi confirmed Ms. Mastroianni's inquiry on the need for the members to take the latter.)

Atty. Noferi informed the committee that Ms. Wexler, though appointed, had not yet been duly sworn in as a member of the TMSIC by Mrs. Neves. Therefore, she was not permitted to fully participate in its proceedings, e.g., to make motions, to speak in debate, and to vote. What follows reflects that exclusion.

Atty. Noferi opened the floor to nominations for Chair of the TMSIC. Mr. Trettel nominated Renaldo DeLuzio. No other nominations were forthcoming. Before being put to vote, Mr. DeLuzio stated that he would gladly serve but would step down upon the expiration of his term as a Town Meeting member in April of 2019. Mr. DeLuzio was unanimously chosen Chairman.

Atty. Noferi opened the floor to nominations for Vice-chair of the TMSIC. Mr. Visconti nominated Steven J. Trettel. Mr. DeLuzio nominated John D. Edmondson. Since there were two nominations, Atty. Noferi directed that the vote be taken by ballot. Atty. Noferi tallied the votes and Mr. Edmondson was declared Vice-chairman.

Atty. Noferi opened the floor to nominations for Clerk of the TMSIC. Mr. Visconti nominated

Kathryn L. Mastroianni. Ms. Mastroianni respectfully asked that her name be withdrawn for consideration as she already serves in the same capacity on two other committees. No other nominations were forthcoming. Michelangelo Bon Tempo volunteered his services. Hearing no objections, Mr. Bon Tempo was unanimously chosen Clerk.

With the election of officers concluded, Atty. Noferi relinquished the chair to Mr. DeLuzio.

The first matter taken up by the Chairman was the frequency and meeting dates of the committee. Chairman DeLuzio suggested that the committee meet once a month on the first Wednesday of the month at Town Hall. Mr. Visconti suggested that the committee continue the practice of the Town Meeting Working Group of meeting once a month on the last Monday of the month, again, at Town Hall. Mr. Visconti's suggestion was carried by a vote of 5 to 3. It was unanimously agreed to start the meetings at 7:15 p.m.

On the matter of the organization of the committee, Chairman DeLuzio stated that it should consist of the 9 members with the cadre of the 15 other applicants to be utilized as volunteers to aid in subcommittee work.

Ms. Mastroianni moved to invite the 15 applicants to attend meetings and participate as needed on subcommittees. The motion was carried unanimously.

Chairman DeLuzio expressed concern with the continuity of the committee's work due to the term limits imposed on its members through the by-laws of the committee as found in the Standing Votes of the Town Meeting as amended.

Mr. Visconti moved that the committee sponsor an article for the upcoming Annual Town Meeting to amend the by-law on *Committee Vacancies* of the TMSIC to the original language as found in Article 15 of the warrant for the Special Town Meeting of October 30, 2017. The motion was carried unanimously.

Town Meeting Study and Improvement Committee (Standing Votes of the Town Meeting)

Committee Vacancies.

When a position on the Committee becomes vacant for any reason the Moderator shall appoint a new member in the following order until the requisite number of members is reached:

From amongst those applicants who are on file with the Town Clerk and who are still willing to serve.

Re-appoint a member who has been re-elected and is still willing to serve.

From the Town Meeting body.

Original Language of Article 15

Committee Vacancies.

When a position on the Committee becomes vacant for any reason the Moderator shall appoint a new member in the following order until the requisite number of members is reached:

Re-appoint a member who has been re-elected and is still willing to serve.

From amongst those applicants who are on file with the Town Clerk and who are still willing to serve.

From the Town Meeting body.

To facilitate the makeup of an agenda for the next meeting, Chairman DeLuzio stated that he will develop a matrix for members to choose which items from the memorandum on Town Meeting Working Group Priority Rankings from the Town Meeting Survey are of interest to them.

Dr. Heller moved to run meetings in accordance with the latest edition of Robert's Rules of Order. The motion was carried unanimously.

Chairman DeLuzio offered an invitation to speak to Mr. Wheelock. Mr. Wheelock respectfully declined.

The meeting adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Michelangelo Bon Tempo Clerk Approved

2/26/2018

LIST OF MEMBERS AND OTHER APPLICANTS

MEMBERS (9)

Name	Precinct #
Richard A. Heller	1
Andrea C. Wexler	2
Kathryn L. Mastroianni	3
Michelangelo Bon Tempo	4
John D. Edmondson	5
Renaldo A. DeLuzio	7
Michael P. Visconti, Jr.	8
Richard A. Morrison	1
Steven J. Trettel	3

OTHER APPLICANTS (15)

Name	Precinct #
Charles M. Clark, Sr.	1
Susan Marie Hastert	2
B. Gregory Johnson	3
Michael A. Mancini	3
Chase W. Filosa	4
Catherine S. Porter	4
Joanne Dillon	5
Jose M. Morais	5
Harry L. Pond, Jr.	5
Brenda Wheelock	5
Janet B. Carlin	7
Leonardo L. Morcone, Jr.	7
Bryan Thomas Cole	8
Bartholomew R. Lawless	8
Justin Redden	8